Índice de Desarrollo de Banda Ancha (2012-2014)

mydata.iadb.org | Last Updated 22 Sep 2016

The main goal of the IDBA is to size the Digital Divide in Latin America and the Caribbean by measuring the state of broadband development in the 26 Bank-member countries, as well as in additional reference countries (64 nations in total). The IDBA is a powerful tool to identify the magnitude of the gap in two different geographic approached, first when we compare the state of the art of one country versus the cluster region the country belongs to, and second, when we compare the country with respect to the OECD. The IDBA relies on a comprehensive approach based on four pillars: infrastructure, applications and capacity, strategic regulations, and public policy and strategic vision. Those four pillars are built as a result of the combination of 37 indicators from renowned international institutions. As a result, the IDBA provides a tool for decision makers and policymakers to detect, on a country basis, strengths and areas for improvement in developing specific, concrete and actionable plans.

Tags: argentina, bahamas, barbados, belice, brasil, bolivia, chile, colombia, costa rica, ecuador, el salvador, haití, honduras, jamaica, guatemala, guyana, méxico, nicaragua, panamá, paraguay, perú, república dominicana, surinam, trinidad y tobago, uruguay, venezuela, banda ancha, telecomunicaciones

This dataset has the following 10 columns:

Column NameAPI Column NameData TypeSample Values
Nombre Variablenombre_variabletext